Leadership S.C. Class of 2013 gathers for first time

September 13, 2012

COLUMBIA - From bankers and real estate agents to educators, the latest class of Leadership South Carolina gathers for the first time Wednesday with a shared vision: to better themselves and those around them.

The program, which is supported by Clemson University's Institute for Economic and Community Development at the Sandhill Research and Education Center, was established in 1979 to provide gifted and highly motivated South Carolinians an opportunity to advance their leadership skills while broadening their understanding of issues facing the state.

Each year, individuals are selected for the nine-month program through a competitive process. Selection is based on an applicant's demonstrated abilities as a leader and on their past records of service in a leadership capacity.

The 51-member Class of 2013 comes from the public and private sectors and nonprofits across the state. The class includes S.C. Teacher of the Year Amy McAllister, who teaches English at Johnsonville High School.

The program incorporates statewide experts in a variety of fields to explore quality of life, economic development, education, and social issues. The class will meet business executives, community and government leaders, and others who will encourage them to pursue positive change in South Carolina.

Leadership South Carolina executive director Helen Munnerlyn said the class represents the state's diversity in terms of employment, demographics, and business sectors. The program looks for emerging leaders to educate and train for leadership in the state.

Class of 2013

Brian Almquist, Trident Technical College
Emily Brady, Chernoff Newman
Nancy Bright, The Citadel
Howard Chalmers III, Blackbaud
Blake Cromer, S.C. Army National Guard
Joseph Davis Jr., Wateree Community Actions Inc.
Galen DeHay, Tri-County Technical College
Matthew Dosch, Comporium
Patti Embry-Tautenhan, Blue Cross Blue Shield of S.C.
Daniel Hamilton, S.C. House of Representatives
Robby Hill, HillSouth
Thomas Huff, Savannah River Remediation
Celia Ann Kelly, Francis Marion University
Ariail Kirk, McNair Law Firm
Barrie Kirk, Midlands Technical College
Kevin Laird, Goodwyn, Mills and Cawood Inc.
Mamie Legette, Pee Dee Regional Council of Governments
Sue Maner, Special Olympics S.C. Inc.
A. Shane Massey, S.C. State Senate
Amy McAllister, S.C. Teacher of the Year
Hank McCullough, Piedmont Natural Gas Co.
Phil Midden, Companion Global Healthcare Inc.
Scott Miller, Duke Energy
Henry Moore, Collier International
Rod Nease, Sunbelt Rentals Inc.
Tara Nauful, Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd
Matthew Nichols, S.C. National Guard
Keesha Pelzer, S.C. State University
Todd Picou, Executive Management Consultants LLC
Phil Pierce, Santee Cooper
Russell Rushe, S.C. Air National Guard
Adrian Scott, S.C. State University
Keith Shah, Blue Cross Blue Shield of S.C.
Kirsten Small, Nexsen Pruet
Matt Stanton, SCANA Corp.
Yarley Steedly, American Heart Association
James Still, S.C. State Firefighters' Association
Emily Stowe, Mid-Carolina Electric Cooperative
Will Taylor, Wells Fargo
Joseph Thomas Jr., S.C. State University
Stacy Thompson, Bluestein, Nichols, Thompson and Delgado
Stuart Lee, Rogers Townsend and Thomas
John Troutman, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
John Verreault III, TD Bank
Jenn Webb, Lockheed Martin
Vicki Whichard, Blue Cross Blue Shield of S.C.
Fran Wiley, Piedmont Technical College Foundation
Scott Wiley, Fluor Enterprises Inc.
Scott Wilhide, GMM Insurance/ERA Wilder Realty
Amanda Williams, University of South Carolina
Terry Wright, Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond


2012 Leadership South Carolina Alumni Awards Luncheon
Leadership South Carolina will recognize three Palmetto State leaders Nov. 26 at the 2012 Dick and Tunky Riley Legacy of Leaders Alumni Awards Luncheon. For reservations, or to learn more about the Legacy of Leaders event, visit www.LeadershipSC.com or call 803-788-7066, ext. 35.